Our Team

The CCI is an award-winning University Center with more than 30 faculty members drawn from 13 academic departments. Our faculty engage almost a third of UMass Lowell’s students through our instructional and research activities. We collaborate with each other on research, teaching, and outreach activities, using a systems thinking framework to integrate across disciplines. We are committed to working with citizens, community organizations, and policymakers to ensure that our scholarly work benefits society directly.

Steering Committee

Juliette Rooney-Varga (Director of CCI, Environmental Science)
Mathew Barlow (Environmental, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences)
Jill Hendrickson Lohmeier (Education, Center for Program Evaluation)
Jarrod Hayes (Political Science)
Kirsten Swenson (Art and Design)
Margaret Sobkowicz-Kline (Plastics Engineering)
Tao "Tony" Gao (Marketing)
David Turcotte (Economics)
Suzanne Moore (Biomedical and Nutritional Sciences)


Carolyn McCarthy (CCI)
Nicole Kelly (UML Office of Sustainability)


Joel A. Tickner (Public Health, Toxics Use Reduction Institute)
Lori Weeden (Environmental, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences)
Rae Mansfield (Honors Scholarship and Curriulum)
Arie L. Perliger (Criminology and Justice Studies)
Thomas Piñeros Shields (Sociology)
Thomas Estabrook (Public Health, The New England Consortium)
Christopher Niezrecki (Mechanical Engineering, Center for Wind Energy)
Chris Skinner (Environmental, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences)
Robert Gamache (Environmental, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences)
Vanessa Gray (Political Science)
James Heiss (Environmental, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences)
Kelly Hellman (Economics)
David Kingsley (Economics)
Supriya Lahiri (Economics)
Marlowe A. Miller (English)
Leslie Farris
Leslie Farris (Chemistry)
Daniel Obrist (Environmental, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences)
Michele Putko (Mechanical Engineering)
Karen E. Roehr (Art and Design)
Thomas Shea (Biological Sciences)
Jean-François-Millithaler (Electrical and Computer Engineering)
Craig Slatin (Public Health)
Kate Swanger (Environmental, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences)
Natalia Palacios (Environmental, Earth, & Atmospheric Sciences)
Jack Luskin (Toxics Use Reduction Institute)
Naomi Wernick (Biology)
John Wooding (Political Science)
Madeline Snow (Lowell Center for Sustainable Production)
Charlotte Ryan (Sociology)
Peter Tashman (Strategic Management)
George Joseph (Accounting)